Meet The Staff

RyanRyan — Program Director

I have been working in child care for many years.

I was previously the Recreation Coordinator at The Sellwood Community Center.

I play and teach music, and love basketball.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Molly – Lead Pre-K Teacher

I started working at DAS over 15 years ago.  I have almost reached my goal

of obtaining a degree in Elementary Education with a focus on Early Childhood.

I enjoy spending time around the kids, listening for all of the hilarious things they say.

I also cannot resist a four-legged creature with a fuzzy face.  I have 5 cats, a bunny, —

and 2 two-legged sons who are now 23 and 25.

My hobbies include scrap booking, baking and cooking, reading – and wishing for snow!

 

 

Kristin –Pre-K Teacher

I started working at DAS in January, 2012.

I most enjoy getting to know the children and discovering their unique personalities.

I have a BS in Organizational Communication from the University of Portland.

I worked for several years as a nanny.

I love spending time with my two nieces, Kate and Lauren, who

are in fourth and sixth grades at Duniway and St. Agatha. I also enjoy going to the movies.

 

 

Kayleen – After School Program Coordinator

I started during the summer at the DAS Summer Camp 2014. I enjoy being able to be part of the lives of these kids as they grow and mature.

I have worked at OMSI in the science playground and also at a Spanish immersion child care called El Pilar. I volunteered for 5 years at Sarah J Anderson Elementary where my mom teaches. I have also done tutoring and babysitting.

I have studied Film and Darkroom Photography, and I manage the local band Soccer Moms.

 

 

 

 


Noelle – Aide

I started working at DAS in October of 2014. Both my brother and I were DAS kids when we were younger, and I remember some of the teachers from those days so I feel pretty comfortable here!

I enjoy doing activities with the kids and getting to know who they are. I consider myself a responsible person, but I am still easy going and fun. I enjoy babysitting for several families in the neighborhood. I love the outdoors and the environmental sciences.

 

 

 

 

 

Veronica – Teacher 

I have been working with children for about five years, here in Oregon and also in Washington.

I have a B.A. in English from the U of O and am excited to be taking steps towards enrolling

in a Grad program at PSU. I am interested in Early Education and Special Education.

In my spare time I love to sing, read, and listen to music.

 

 

 

 

 

Danielle – Aide

I started working at DAS in September 2015. I grew up in the area,

and enjoy being able to walk to work and babysit for families in the neighborhood.

I recently graduated from Portland State University with a BA in

community health education and Spanish.

On my free time I like to be with family and friends, play basketball, hike,

read, and hang out with my dogs!

 

 

 

Jay – Aide

I’m a Cleveland High School graduate currently attending

Portland Community College.

I enjoy exploring nature and any new places in the city.

I have a passion for photography and physical training, which I love to teach my friends about.

In the warmer seasons, I enjoy playing paintball at various events around Oregon.

Every day, I look forward to going to work and having a good time with everyone.

 

 

 

Ilka – Administrative Director 

I started working for DAS in July 2009, when the bookkeeper went on family leave to have a baby.

I stayed on when she decided not to return to work.

My son George is in sixth grade this year (and is a recent Duniway graduate!), and my daughter Marley is in fourth.

My favorite way to spend free time is with family and friends.

My weekends are booked with soccer games since both of my children are on teams.

 

 

 

 

Linda – Teacher

I started at DAS in 2007.  Before that I was a nanny for nineteen years.

I worked for one family for ten of those years! My husband and I have one son, who is 22 years old.

I enjoy working closely with the children and watching them react to their new discoveries.

I have had other jobs, but you just don’t get hugs from a computer!

My special interests include gardening, reading, and genealogy.

 

 

 

Michael – Aide

I’m a native Oregonian, but I’m relatively new to Portland. I studied Environmental Science at the University of Oregon with a focus on habitat restoration and population monitoring. I’m currently in school for website design and development.

I’m new to child care, but I’ve done a lot of volunteering at the elementary school that my mother works at in Salem. I’ve also taught some environmental education classes to elementary school children when I lived in Eugene. In my spare time I draw, play board games, read, and am in the process of teaching myself how to program.